Beet and Goat Cheese Spread

I loved the combination of beets and goat cheese so much (as seen in my recipe here and in my last post here) that I had to try making it as a dip or spread a month ago. Yes, I said a month ago. I’m a little behind on my food posts. It appears I’m making food faster than I can blog about it. Teaching is keeping me a very busy bee indeed. 🙂

This delicious vegetarian dip makes an amazing appetizer served with crackers or veggie sticks or a fabulous spread for a sandwich or mixed with pasta or quinoa. Its purple-red colour is a beautiful addition to any party table (particularly the holiday season – that vibrant jewel tone is gorgeous and will undoubtedly get attention) and will definitely delight your guests. The best part is that it uses my favourite kitchen appliance: the food processor. It takes only minutes to make before you are able to enjoy it.  (Almost) instant gratification!

IMG_2776

Beet and Goat Cheese Spread with Mary’s Crackers – truefoodlove

Beet and Goat Cheese Spread

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup raw walnuts, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds
  • 3/4 cup goat feta cheese (you can also use the soft kind – which I think I did when I made this)
  • 3 organic beets, scrubbed and chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
  • fresh-squeezed lemon juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt (depending on how salty your cheese is)

Method:

1. Pulse together nuts and seeds with olive oil in a food processor until mixture is crumbly and holds together when pressed.

IMG_2761

2. Pour nut mixture out in a bowl and mix with goat cheese.

IMG_2762

3. Add beets, parsley, dill, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and salt and pepper. Pulse until beets are finely chopped but parsley is still visible.
IMG_2765
4. Mix together nut mixture and beet mixture. Form into patties and refrigerate for 5 minutes. Serve with veggies and crackers, spread on a sandwich, top on a salad or toss with pasta. The ways to enjoy this are endless!
Dip ready for digging in! - truefoodlove

Dip ready for digging in! – truefoodlove

2 thoughts on “Beet and Goat Cheese Spread

Leave a Reply

