Slow Cooker Coconut Lentil Sweet Potato Curry

Another slow cooker recipe? Yup! I hope you aren’t getting sick of them, but honestly, if you are, I’m thinking you must not be using your slow cooker. I know I go on and on about it, but this essential kitchen tool has been one of my most time-saving appliances this winter. Having a busy full-time job and working as a part-time yoga teacher, I need to have meals prepped in advance if I want to make sure I eat healthy and have a life (and save money!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So last Sunday I was at the Yoga Conference in Toronto for most of the day, but being my “Food Prep Sunday”, I knew I couldn’t let that slide. So I turned to my faithful slow cooker, which I knew would get the job done. Returning to my home knowing that dinner would be finished and ready for lunches for most of the week was almost as good as the feeling of being greeted with Bodhi’s furry face.

This curry is full of beautiful spices that are mellowed out by the natural sweetness from the sweet potato and creaminess from the coconut milk. And yes, I’m talking about full fat coconut milk. I have no qualms about using it since this makes quite a few servings but if you are concerned about caloric intake, you can use reduced fat coconut milk, it may just not have the creaminess of this version.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you try it, let me know what you think in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you!

See you next week,

xo Mira

Slow Cooker Coconut Lentil Sweet Potato Curry (adapted from The Pretty Bee) – serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small organic sweet potato, diced
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1½ cups green lentils (or French green lentils)
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 can full fat organic coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1.5 tsp. pink Himalayan salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 2 tsps. garam masala
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup organic cilantro, chopped
  • cooked brown rice or quinoa for serving, if desired

Method:

  1. Sort through lentils, remove any stones and rinse thoroughly.
  2. Place all ingredients except cilantro and rice/quinoa (if using) in the crockpot.
  3. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-6 hours.
  4. Scoop out into bowls (on top of rice/quinoa if using) and garnish with cilantro before serving.
2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Coconut Lentil Sweet Potato Curry

Leave a Reply

