Paleo Coconut Flour Banana Bread

If you’ve been following my blog (a huge thank you to those who are still with me!) you’ll know that I have a lot of banana recipes. My philosophy is that you can never have too many and today’s is no exception my friends. It’s paleo. It’s fast. And it’s good.

Paleo Coconut Flour Banana Bread

Paleo Coconut Flour Banana Bread

This recipe was adapted from Comfy Belly’s recipe that was sent to me by a good friend who also appreciates healthy, quick and easy recipes. I added some cinnamon and chocolate chips (because everything is better with chocolate chips), but it’s very versatile and you could spice it up however you like by adding nuts, seeds, other spices like cardamom or nutmeg would also be perfect. It’s delicious slathered with some coconut butter once its cooled and is also a good source of fibre (from the coconut flour) and protein (from the eggs).

The amount of coconut flour is not a typo. You don’t need very much of it because it absorbs moisture like crazy. Trust me on this one. If you’re interested in trying other coconut flour recipes, check out my Gluten-free Coconut Flour Pancakes or my Vegan and Gluten-free PB and J Thumbprint Cookies.

I intend on posting weekly – every Sunday – and more often if I’m able, so I hope you check back next Sunday for another recipe post. I have some other ideas brewing as well that I hope will also inspire you. Stay tuned!

xo

Mira

Paleo Coconut Flour Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe, peeled bananas, mashed (gives you about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons honey (or maple syrup or coconut sugar)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup vegan mini chocolate chips (I used Enjoy life)

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F and prep your baking pan with parchment paper. I used a bit of coconut oil on the sides to help mine stick.
  2. Mix the eggs, maple syrup, and vanilla with the mashed bananas and blend well.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the baking soda, salt, cinnamon and coconut flour, then add to the banana mixture and mix well, stirring to get rid of any dry spots.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips, reserving a small amount to sprinkle on the top of the loaf to pretty it up.
  5. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes to thicken. Coconut flour is a sponge and really absorbs lots of moisture.
  6. Pour the batter into the prepped baking pan and bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the bread comes out clean.
  7. Cool completely before slicing. It’s a pretty moist bread so it’ll be okay in an airtight container for a few days, but if you’re planning to save it for longer, I would recommend refrigerating or freezing the slices. To be honest, it didn’t last much longer than a few days.
Leave a Reply

