Brunch Ideas (inspired by Mother’s Day)

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love brunch – like Paris, it’s ALWAYS a good idea.  It’s like breakfast, refined; it’s definitely not a time to get overly complicated (because who wants to wake up at 5am to slave away in the kitchen?) but that doesn’t mean it can’t be elegant, beautiful and delicious! A few simple recipes (most of which require little to no cooking) and some seasonal blooms gathered on a walk are all that are needed to dress up a table. So in honour of Mother’s Day, I decided to host a brunch for my mom. I picked these gorgeous lilacs on my morning walk with Bodhi! (Who’s Bodhi you ask? If you follow me on Instagram, you probably already know, but if not – he’s my rescue pup! More on that later.) Below you’ll find the simple menu I served.photo 5 (1) Healthy Mother’s Day Brunch Menu

I had baked a sweet potato a few days earlier and was trying to figure out how to use it when it dawned on me that I could throw it in my Mini Frittatas! I added some kale, mushroom and goat cheddar and it turned out fantastic! This recipe continues to prove how versatile it is.

Kale, Sweet Potato and Mushroom Mini Muffin Frittatas - truefoodlove

Kale, Sweet Potato and Mushroom Mini Muffin Frittatas – truefoodlove

The icing on the (carrot) cake was the no-bake vegan raw carrot cake with coconut lemon icing from Joyous Health. That weekend, we’d been experiencing summer-like temperatures and my condo had yet to turn on the AC, so I was looking for a no-bake dessert and this was perfect! It was a perfect and healthful ending to our brunch. photo 1 (9) I am filled with such gratitude to have such an incredible mom who not only was generous and giving but always made time to make homemade food for my sister and I, helping us form healthy habits at a young age. And I suppose it was sort of a celebration for me too since I am a dog mom to the best rescue in the world.

bodhi

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all moms and furmoms out there. I hope you had a beautiful day and know that you are appreciated and loved dearly.

xo Mira

Leave a Reply

