Greeña Colada

After a long hiatus, I’m back to posting (I’m hoping!) on a more regular basis. Life has become busy, and I will definitely update as to why in an upcoming post, but for now I thought I would help chase away the winter blues with this super simple and delicious Greeña Colada smoothie.

Greena Colada

This is perfect for those trying to lighten up their diet after all the holiday noshing and is a great way to help boost your immunity during this cold and flu season since it’s packed with nutrients. There is loads of potassium in the banana and vitamin C and bromelain in the pineapple. Bromelain is an enzyme currently being studied as a possible anti-inflammatory agent helping to reduce symptoms associated with arthritis and incidentally is what makes pineapple a great natural exfoliant as bromelain is also used as a meat tenderizer. So if you want “tenderized” younger looking skin, rub a little pineapple on that beautiful face! If you have sensitive skin, I suggest trying this on a small area first.

Greena Colada

I made this delicious concoction in the new Blendtec (!) I treated myself to over the holidays. Since I needed to replace my food processor (which broke for the second time) I figured this guy could easily do what a food processor does PLUS be a high powered blender. I can’t wait to see what else this can do!

Looking forward to sharing true food love with all of you in 2015!

– Mira

Greeña Colada (serves 2 or one hungry person)

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • 1-2 cups coconut milk (for extra coconut richness, you can try adding a spoonful of canned coconut milk)
  • 1/2 cup ice cubes
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • nature’s sprinkles (a.k.a. bee pollen, chia, coconut flakes)

Make It:

  1. Place all ingredients in your blender and press pulse until smoothie is at desired consistency.
  2. Pour into a glass and top with whatever you like from nature’s sprinkles.
Leave a Reply

