Turmeric Mango Smoothie

I love that my dad sends me emails about nutrition and healthy living. I guess it’s a sign that I’m a health foodie! He recently sent me a recipe that featured turmeric in a smoothie and I was very, very intrigued….and frankly a little skeptical. Turmeric in a smoothie? That’s just plain weird.

IMG_2692

But trust me when I say this does not taste like pureed curry in a glass. This smoothie tastes exotic, is slightly spicy and warm (think pumpkin pie), sweet and fruity. It contains a beautiful blend of flavours, with the benefit of turmeric!

Turmeric is a bright orange spice that comes from the same family as ginger but has a mild flavour. It has been extensively studied for its health benefits which can be credited to the powerful antioxidant abilities of curcumin. Turmeric has been shown to inhibit the growth of tumour cells, prevent skin, colon and prostate cancer, and is a potent anti-inflammatory agent, helping reduce the symptoms of arthritis.

It’s best when consumed raw, which is just what this smoothie recipe offers. It makes a great breakfast smoothie or post-workout recovery smoothie (with the added protein) and I can’t wait to experiment with other creative ways to incorporate this powerful spice in raw foods I make.

I’m so glad I gave this smoothie a chance because now I’m a convert! (Thanks Dad!) I hope you give it a try too. It’s not only delicious but so amazing for your health!

Turmerically yours,

Mira

Turmeric Mango Smoothie (adapted by Karen Foster, RHN)

Ingredients:

  • 1 mango, diced and frozen
  • 1 banana, broken into pieces
  • 1 scoop vegan vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tbsp. virgin coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. maca (optional)
  • 1 cup almond milk (or non-dairy milk of your choice)
  • For garnish: chopped mango, chia seeds, goji berries

Make it:

1. Blend all the ingredients in a blender or use a hand-held immersion blender (which is what I use and it works just fine) and garnish as desired.

2. Drink up!

Turmeric Mango Smoothie - truefoodlove

Turmeric Mango Smoothie – truefoodlove

Leave a Reply

