Gluten-free Pumpkin Spice Doughnut Holes

This week has been a doozy. It just happened that things all fell on the same week: appointments, meet-ups with friends and my reports being due this Friday. After being ill the previous week, I was playing catch up with a lot of work. Cooking should have been the last thing on my mind. But of course, as normally is the case when my life gets busy, I cook and bake.

Yeah, I know. Some people might call that procrastination. I like to call it a nutrition break. 😉

Besides, I still had half a baked pumpkin in my fridge and didn’t want it to spoil! (Or so I rationalized.) And so I did some surfing on the internet and found this scrumptious looking recipe from The Healthy Maven. I just couldn’t resist.

IMG_2904

For those in Canada familiar with Timbits from the iconic Tim Hortons, these are way healthier for you as they are gluten-free, dairy free and refined sugar-free, but not flavour-free. I brought some of these to some friends and they all agreed they were delicious!

Oh and beware eating them warm out of the oven. I had to stop myself after three of these. You’ve been warned.

Gluten-free Pumpkin Spice Doughnut Holes (inspired by The Healthy Maven)

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup oat flour
  • ½ cup brown rice flour
  • 4 tbsp. coconut flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 2 large organic, free-range eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (I used leftover baked pumpkin that I mashed.)

Coating:

  • 3 tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 heaping tsp. cinnamon

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease a mini muffin pan with coconut oil.

2. Mix dry ingredients (flours, baking powder, salt and spices) together in a small bowl.

3. Mix wet ingredients (oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla) together until well combined.

4. Add dry mixture to wet mixture and stir until combined. Add pumpkin puree and mix well.

5. Roll into 1″ balls and place one in each mini muffin tin.

IMG_2896

6. Bake for 15-20 minutes. In the meantime, mix together the sugar and cinnamon for the coating in a small bowl and melt some coconut oil in another bowl.

7. Remove muffin tin from oven and let cool for five minutes.

8. Quickly roll one doughnut bite in coconut oil with one hand and immediately roll in sugar and cinnamon mixture with the other hand.

IMG_2898

9. Let cool completely on wire rack before transferring to an airtight container. Feel free to sample warm, I think they taste best eaten fresh on the first day but they are okay on the second day too.

IMG_2903

Leave a Reply

