Vegan Chickpea Burger

I’ve always loved a good burger and unlike most omnivores, I actually LIKE veggie burgers. By veggie burgers, I don’t mean the faux-meat kind made of highly processed soy, but those made of actual beans and vegetables. This was the first one I experimented with and I’m so thrilled with the results. The fact that I could freeze the cooked patties to reheat and eat later (an absolute necessity given my busy job and budget) and that they were so quick to make will definitely put them into my cooking rotation year round.

Vegan Chickpea Burger - truefoodlove

Vegan Chickpea Burger – truefoodlove

Vegan Chickpea Burger (adapted from Vegetarian Times)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 4 carrots, grated (about 1.5 cups)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley or cilantro
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 heaping tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. Herbamare or sea salt

Method:

  1. In a food processor, pulse together chickpeas, carrots, onion, oats, parsley, garlic, curry powder, turmeric, salt and pepper until crumbly but not pureed. Pinch it to see if it will hold together. If it doesn’t, add a bit of water a little bit at a time until it does. Let mixture chill out for about 30 minutes before shaping it. If you don’t have time, give it at least 5 minutes.
  2. Shape into 4 patties or 6 smaller/thinner ones. You can freeze them at this stage if you want to save them for later, but I prefer cooking them and then freezing them.
  3. Heat a fry pan over medium heat and lightly coat the bottom of the pan with coconut oil. Add the patties and fry for 3-5 minutes on each side until golden and crispy in the areas where it made contact with the pan.
  4. Serve on buns with garnishes or on a simple salad. Let the uneaten patties cool and freeze for those moments when you have no time to cook.

When I worked in Hong Kong last summer I had THE BEST vegetarian beet burger at this one restaurant, and ever since then I’ve been dreaming up ways to try to replicate it. I think that’ll be the next burger recipe I try…. 😉

IMG_1937

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chickpea Burger

Leave a Reply

