Moroccan Chickpea Tagine with Quinoa

Okay, so this was not made in a tagine (since I don’t have any space in my tiny condo for another large kitchen gadget or pot) but I find a large frypan with a lid does sufficiently well. If you’re fortunate enough to have a tagine, I think it’s safe to assume that you are hardcore and probably already know how to make the real deal. 🙂

This is probably not the most authentic recipe but I love it just the same. I’m definitely someone who “eats with their eyes first”, and this recipe is just so vibrant! Credit for this delicious, easy and flavourful recipe goes to my lovely sister who first introduced me to this many years ago when she made it for our family one night served over couscous. I’ve been making it ever since and is one of my go-to quick dinners when I want something warming during the cooler seasons. I’ve replaced the couscous with quinoa, which packs more fibre and protein and is gluten-free.

IMG_1935

As with many of my non-baking recipes, I tend to eyeball measurements and change up the contents depending on what’s in my fridge. Feel free to adjust spices to taste and use different vegetables such as eggplant, peppers, broccoli or even kale! If you can get your hands on some Ras El Hanout (a Moroccan spice blend containing up to 30 different spices including cardamom, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and turmeric) then toss that in instead. That’s the beauty of cooking. Make it your own! 🙂

Moroccan Chickpea Tagine with Quinoa - truefoodlove

Moroccan Chickpea Tagine with Quinoa – truefoodlove

Moroccan Chickpea Tagine (credit: my sister)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 can chickpeas (or about 2 cups cooked)
  • 3-4 fresh tomatoes (or one 28 oz can of diced tomatoes – if using add 1-2 tsp. of honey or other alternate sweetener)
  • 1 onion or 2 shallots, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 ribs celery, sliced
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 8 oz. cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 zucchini, sliced in half moons (I didn’t have any when I made it above)
  • 1 tbsp. coriander
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1-2 tbsp. paprika
  • a generous pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 3-4 tbsp. chopped parsley

Method:

  1. Rinse quinoa in a sieve to remove any bitter saponins (which is a natural substance found on some plants that help reduce palatability to animals and insects).
  2. Bring 2 cups of salted water to a boil. Add quinoa, cover and simmer for 12 minutes. After 12 minutes turn off the heat and leave the pot on the element (don’t remove the lid!) to allow the residual heat to further evaporate any water. I’ve found this works every time to produce fluffy and dry quinoa.
  3. In the meantime, saute onions and garlic together in coconut oil in a large fry pan over medium-low heat until soft, about 5 minutes.
  4. Then add the celery, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms and chickpeas and spices and saute for 3 minutes more.
  5. Add the tomatoes, stir well and bring mixture to a boil. Cover and simmer to allow flavours to get friendly for about 20 minutes.
  6. Portion out quinoa into bowls and top with the vegetable stew. Garnish with parsley and enjoy! 🙂

IMG_2662

Leave a Reply

