Feast with Five: Bruschetta Baby!

I have been going tomato crazy over here. Even though my little Mountain Princess heirloom tomato plant on my balcony has been yielding modest (but so flavourful) tomatoes, I have been happily accepting hoards from my parent’s garden and creating all sorts of dishes with these ruby beauties.

The ingredients - truefoodlove

The ingredients – truefoodlove

I have to get my fill now, while they are still ripe and nutrient dense because I refuse to touch the mealy and sad-looking idea of a “tomato” in grocery stores during the winter season. Really, it’s an insult to tomatoes everywhere, and I feel fairly confident that nutritionally speaking, those tomatoes are the equivalent of eating a piece of cardboard (and even then I think the cardboard may have more fibre).

Tomato Bruschetta - truefoodlove

Tomato Bruschetta – truefoodlove

I find summer cooking effortless (as it should be because we should all be busy enjoying it!). The produce is so fresh that little is needed to enhance flavour. So even though some of you might be reading this and saying: “Really? This is a recipe? You’ve got to be kidding me.” My answer? I’m not kidding you. It is this easy. And if you get good quality ingredients, it will taste hella good (thanks Gwen Stefani for that expression).

Simple recipes are only as good as your ingredients, so make sure you get the freshest, and your taste buds and your belly will not be disappointed. 🙂

Bruschetta

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 large tomatoes
  • 3-4 leaves basil, chiffonade
  • 1 sprig oregano, stripped of leaves
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Method:

1. Wash and dice tomatoes. If using for a salad instead, slice into rounds and arrange on a plate for serving.

2. Mix all of the ingredients together for bruschetta and season with salt and pepper. Serve on slices of baguette, or spelt crackers or gluten-free crackers of your choice.

3. For a tomato salad, sprinkle the herbs and garlic on top of the tomatoes and drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Bruschetta on Spelt Cracker - truefoodlove

Bruschetta on Spelt Cracker – truefoodlove

Leave a Reply

