Tonight’s Take-In: Basic Veggie Sushi Rolls

I try my best not to make a habit of ordering in, or eating out. I feel like what I make at home is often healthier, and the money I save can be put towards bucket list trips. 🙂 However, one food I used to justify going out to eat for was sushi.

I used to think it was difficult to make and time-consuming. But lo and behold, during a heat wave a few weeks ago where I had been eating salads for three days straight, I needed some variety and felt adventurous enough to try making sushi. And let me tell you: it was easier than learning to tie my shoes.

IMG_2351

This is so incredibly simple, you will no longer need to venture out in the heat to a sushi restaurant. I often make the rice the day before and keep it in the fridge for the next few days so that I can easily whip up some rolls when I want to. I’m happy to report that this has become my new take-in food. 🙂 I’ve even brought the veggie sushi “log” (prior to cutting) as an on-the-go snack/dinner before one of my beach volleyball games. It’s portable and nutritious!

Before I get to the recipe, I want to quickly address some concerns people may have about brown rice. Recent studies have expressed concerns about the arsenic content in rice and in particular brown rice. In a nutshell, those areas of the United States  growing cotton tend to have soil that is contaminated with higher concentrations of arsenic due to past pesticide use. While it is definitely something to note, I don’t believe that cutting out rice completely is the solution. I recommend making sure to buy organic rice and visit the website of the brand you are planning to purchase to see if they have done testing on their own product and soil. Personally I prefer Lundberg rice since they support sustainable practices and non-GMO products.

My bottom line is if you eat a variety of foods in moderation and not any one food exclusively, you’ll be okay. 🙂

This recipe was inspired by the lovely Kris Carr from her book Crazy Sexy Diet. I find the addition of tahini in the filling adds a great flavour and creaminess to this roll.

Basic Vegetarian Sushi Rolls (Maki)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic short grain brown rice
  • a few tbsps. tahini
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 carrot or orange pepper, julienned
  • 1/3 cucumber, julienned
  • 1 green onion, julienned
  • pea sprouts/sunflower sprouts (I didn’t include them in this version)
  • 3 tbsp. gluten-free tamari
  • 1 tsp. ginger, minced

1. Rinse the rice well and bring a full medium pot of water to a boil. When pot is boiling, add rice, cover and reduce heat to simmer for 30 minutes. Drain well then cover with the lid and let residual heat fluff up rice further for 10 minutes.

2. In the meantime, prepare dipping sauce by grating ginger using a Microplane and mixing with the tamari in a dipping bowl.

3. When the rice has cooled, place a sheet of nori, shiny side down on a bamboo mat.

4. Spread rice on nori leaving about a half-inch at the end of the roll so it can be sealed. On the other end spread/drizzle about a tsp. of tahini where the veggies will be placed.

5. Arrange the vegetables in a long row on top of the tahini.

Ready for rolling - truefoodlove

Ready for rolling – truefoodlove

6. When ready to roll, lift the bamboo mat and begin to roll away from you using the bamboo mat to ensure a tight roll. When you are at the end with no rice, lightly dampen the nori with water to help it seal and then finish rolling. I like to grip the bamboo mat over the finished roll to ensure it’s stuck together.

Rolled up! - truefoodlove

Rolled up! – truefoodlove

7. Using a sharp serrated knife. slice the roll into one-inch pieces and place on a plate.

IMG_2350

8. Dip in sauce and devour!

IMG_2353

2 thoughts on “Tonight’s Take-In: Basic Veggie Sushi Rolls

Leave a Reply

